The Marsh Conservation Awards

Marsh Awards for the Conservation and Restoration of Objects and Collections

The Conservation Awards, supported by the Marsh Charitable Trust, are returning to Icon for a second year after an exciting launch at the Members’ Meeting in 2023.

The conservation of objects and collections protects the things people value.

From cherished family heirlooms to national treasures, the practice of conservation encompasses artworks, books and archives, textiles, architecture and archaeology as well as industrial, natural and social history collections. Whether they are held by museums, heritage organisations, private collectors or public bodies, these objects form our collective history and culture.

Conservation professionals value and understand these physical artefacts; skilfully safeguarding them against decay and neglect to ensure that everyone’s stories survive for the inspiration of present and future generations.

SM DSCF5609.jpg 1

Marsh Conservation Awards 2023 winner for Conservation in Action Mary Evans with Icon Vice-Chair Sophie Rowe ACR and Marsh Charitable Trust representatiove Peter Anwyl-Harris.

However, much of this work is hidden from public view because it takes place in private workshops or conservation studios in museums, galleries and archives.

Six categories for nomination aim to highlight those in the profession championing advances in practice, research and training throughout all career stages.

Promoting the wider recognition of conservation and the value it brings to society, the Marsh Conservation Awards celebrate the sector and its positive impact on cultural heritage and communities.

The 2024 Conservation Award Categories are:
  • Award for Heritage Conservation in Action
  • Award for Research in Conservation
  • Award for Innovation in Conservation
  • Award for Environmental or Sustainability Focus in Conservation 
  • Award for Early Career Conservators
  • Award for Outstanding Student Conservators

Entries in all categories should refer to Icon's Values of conservation.

The prize for a winner in each category is £500. 

Nominations are open now with the final deadline for submission at 11:59pm on Sunday 2nd June 2024.

The Award Ceremony will be held during an evening reception at the Icon24 Conference: Conservation for Change, at the Royal Geographical Society on Tuesday 2nd July.

For eligibility and criteria visit the Award Categories page. For entry information visit the Entry Process page.