Nominations Invited for the Plowden Medal Conservation Award 2023

Make your nomination by Friday 19th May 2023

07 Mar 2023

Established in 1999 to commemorate the life and work of the late Hon. Anna Plowden CBE (1938 – 1997), this medal was endowed by the Royal Warrant Holders Association, of which she was Vice-President.

The Plowden Medal is awarded annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the conservation profession and whose nomination would be widely welcomed within the conservation community.

A Selection Board, drawn from the conservation community, the Royal Collection and the Royal Warrant Holders Association will consider nominations in June 2023. Nomination papers can be downloaded from the RWHA website:

The final date for the receipt of nominations is Friday 19th May 2023.

The award will be presented at an RWHA event in the Autumn.


The award covers all aspects of conservation be they practical, theoretical or managerial – and is open to those working in private practice or institutions.

Last year’s winner was Julie Dawson ACR FIIC:

Julie Dawson Plowden Medal 2023.JPG


Previous winners have been; Garry Thomson CBE (1999), Dr Jonathan Ashley-Smith (2000), Donald Insall CBE (2001), Dr David Leigh (2002), Clare Meredith (2003), Christopher Clarkson (2004), Carole Milner (2005), James Black (2006), Dr Vincent Daniels (2007), David Pinniger (2008), Professor Nicholas Pickwoad (2009), David Watkinson (2010) Kate Colleran (2011), Professor May Cassar (2012), Jonathan Betts MBE (2013), Dr Jim Tate (2014), Nancy Bell (2015), Sarah Staniforth (2015), Ksynia Marko (2016), Professor Sharon Cather (2017), Alan Derbyshire (2018), Caroline Bendix (2019), Katy Lithgow (2020), Stephen Clare MBE and Professor Jane Henderson FIIC (2021)


Related topics