03 Jun 2021

Plowden Medal applications deadline approaching

The closing date for 2021 applications has been extended to the end of June

The winner of the Plowden Medal 2019—Caroline Bendix—for her outstanding contribution to in-situ book conservation


Established in 1999 to commemorate the life and work of the late Hon. Anna Plowden CBE (1938 – 1997), this gold Medal was endowed by the Royal Warrant Holders Association, of which she was Vice-President.

The Plowden Medal is awarded annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the conservation profession and whose nomination would be widely welcomed within the conservation community. The award covers all aspects of conservation be they practical, theoretical or managerial – and is open to those working in private practice or institutions. 

A Selection Board, drawn from the conservation community, the Royal Collection and the Royal Warrant Holders Association will consider nominations in July 2021. Nomination papers can be downloaded from the RWHA website. The final date for the receipt of nominations is Wednesday 30th June 2021. The award will be presented at an RWHA event in September.

Last years’ winner was Katy Lithgow for her inspirational leadership and powerful advocacy for the sustainability of cultural heritage. Previous winners have been; Garry Thomson CBE (1999), Dr Jonathan Ashley-Smith (2000), Donald Insall CBE (2001), Dr David Leigh (2002), Clare Meredith (2003), Christopher Clarkson (2004), Carole Milner (2005), James Black (2006), Dr Vincent Daniels (2007), David Pinniger (2008), Professor Nicholas Pickwoad (2009), David Watkinson (2010) Kate Colleran (2011), Professor May Cassar (2012), Jonathan Betts MBE (2013), Dr Jim Tate (2014), Nancy Bell (2015), Sarah Staniforth (2015), Ksynia Marko (2016), Professor Sharon Cather (2017) and Alan Derbyshire (2018) and Caroline Bendix (2019).


Related topics