Nominations invited for the 2021 Plowden Medal

Nominations are open until Wednesday, 30 June 2021

17 Mar 2021

The Plowden Medal is awarded annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the conservation profession.

The award covers all aspects of conservation be they practical, theoretical or managerial – and is open to those working in private practice or institutions. 

Established in 1999 to commemorate the life and work of the late Hon. Anna Plowden CBE (1938 – 1997), this gold medal was endowed by the Royal Warrant Holders Association, of which she was Vice-President.

A Selection Board, drawn from the conservation community, the Royal Collection and the Royal Warrant Holders Association will consider nominations in July 2021, and the award will be presented to the winner in the Autumn. Nomination papers can be downloaded here

The final date for the receipt of nominations is Wednesday 30 June 2021.

Previous winners have been; Garry Thomson CBE (1999), Dr Jonathan Ashley-Smith (2000), Donald Insall CBE (2001), Dr David Leigh ACR (2002), Clare Meredith ACR (2003), Christopher Clarkson (2004), Carole Milner (2005), James Black (2006), Dr Vincent Daniels (2007), David Pinniger (2008), Professor Nicholas Pickwoad (2009), David Watkinson (2010) Kate Colleran ACR (2011), Professor May Cassar (2012), Jonathan Betts MBE (2013), Dr Jim Tate (2014), Nancy Bell ACR (2015), Sarah Staniforth (2015), Ksynia Marko (2016), Professor Sharon Cather (2017) and Alan Derbyshire (2018), Caroline Bendix ACR (2019) and Katy Lithgow (2020).

For any queries please contact Claire Anderson.


Header image: Creative Commons

Related topics